Some people think studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information for us.

In recent years, there have been different viewpoints on whether history should be considered important to study. While many people think that we almost gain nothing about this subject, I believe that it can provide us with a huge amount of knowledge. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why a number of people hold the view that it is pointless to learn from the past. Firstly, some people might argue that history has no relevance to any other domains. It is obvious that history is an isolated subject that is hardly related to other fields, therefore, focusing on it cannot help us to be successful unless we specialize in history. Secondly, instead of history, people in the modern world tend to invest their time in technology on the grounds that this area is worldwide and flexible, creating better opportunities in the career. On the other hand, I believe that learning history is a great way to know more about our culture. The first reason is that we can be equipped with deep-rooted customs and traditions while doing historical research, encouraging us to make an attempt to preserve them. By doing this, the youth can continuously keep their countries distinctive from others. In addition, history makes us more conscious of how the older generations sacrificed to shape the nations nowadays. When youngsters understand that, they may develop a sense of pride and patriotism which motivates them to devote more for the country. In conclusion, although learning history is often viewed as a waste of time, I still believe that it is beneficial for the effectiveness in educating people about their culture.