Some people think schools should teach students to form good behaviour in addition to providing formal education.

Today, our perception of education is changing more than ever, compares to the past. Beside the major responsibility of schools in teaching and educating, some believe that schools is also where children learn how behave well. From my perspective, I agree with this statement. First, school is a place children spend most of the time besides their home, so one way or another, they are likely to mimic behaviors that can come from their peers or their teachers. In turn, it would be wise if people took that chance to teach students the way to conduct well towards others, especially elderly people. In that way, youngsters are able to develop themselves in terms of moral aspect. In some cases, children also have a tendency towards taking their friends as a role model, which then make them try to fit in by imitating others. Therefore, it is necessary for schools to provide character education that create an affectionate environment for children to study and merge in. Another reason is children nowadays get exposed to several negative influences through media, so schools play a vital role in tracking their behaviors that can help teachers take specific actions to reshaping children’s perception. For instance, showing examples of good character is a fine way to instill moral values in them. Moreover, this type of education teaches students the values of caring about other people, honesty, responsibility, and other important traits that make for an upstanding citizen. In conclusion, the character education is as essential as academic teaching not just in terms of morality but also as a necessary factor to be successful in life.