Some people think planning future is a waste of time and people should focus on the present.

Ensuring adequate food for everyone is one of the most crucial responsibility of the government for centuries. Some people believe that the nation should be able to produce the food requirement of its population and only the essential ingredients should be imported for consumption. I think producing enough daily bread for people's consumption is a better way of making a country more secure in terms of its food security. Undoubtedly, a state may not be able to produce certain food items. Due to geographical reasons, different kind of food can be seen in many parts of the world. The people should have the right to taste distinct food which is not produced in their country. For example, tropical countries such as Sri Lanka is not able to cultivate apples; hence the importation happens from countries. Nevertheless, a nation should utilize its land, and the government should encourage citizens to cultivate crops to fulfil the food requirements. If a nation is capable of producing enough food, then the funds which are used to import food can be used to develop other sectors. Moreover, employing better methods to improve the crops will ensure fresh food such as vegetables and fruits for its people. Furthermore, the attention and encouragement towards the agricultural sector will ensure for people to have more jobs. For instance, in Indonesia, more than half of its population is directly or indirectly depends on the agricultural sector. Most of the states are now focusing on increasing its cattle and agricultural production using new technologies without using toxic chemicals. In conclusion, I firmly believe that producing food for the entire population is a good trend, and the state can develop the country by utilizing the saved funds. Nonetheless, some regional food should be imported for people to consume.