Ordinary people try to copy famous personalities by seeing them on TV or reading about them in the newspapers. What is the reason for this? Is it a good idea to copy famous personalities?

It is important to consider that how a state should allocate its resources towards the overall betterment of the society. Some people believe that an administration spending money on the arts is a waste and it should be spent somewhere which is better for the society. While I disagree that the arts is a waste of money, I do feel that the welfare of the public should be the priority when it comes to the allocation of resources. To begin with, arts is an essential part of culture which allows people not only to express their creativity, but also their opinions. This expression of ideas fosters an intellectually healthy society which is crucial in the progress of a country. For example, arts institutions organizing different events provide a great opportunity to artists not only to share their ideas with the public, but also to shed light on the critical social issues. Therefore, a state ought to support the arts by putting in some resources to it. However, besides spending on the arts, government should not forget to fulfil the basic public needs. It is occasionally observed, especially in the developing countries that governments often divert their resource toward projects which have nothing to do with the welfare of the general population. For instance, In Pakistan, the provincial government of Sindh, spent extravagantly over the renovation of the provincial assembly building while several people in rural areas of the province are disenfranchised of basic health facilities. In conclusion, while others people opinion may vary, in my view, there is no waste of money in supporting the arts, but the welfare of the public should be the top priority of the state when it comes to allocation of resource.