In many countries in the world, people buy clothes and choose hairstyles according to the latest fashion. Why is this happening? Do you think it is this a positive or negative development?

Today, people are following the latest fashion and are grooming themselves accordingly. This revolutionary change is due to the easy availability of merchandise and advertising. I believe that it is a positive trend for individuals and society. The primary reason behind this prevailing trend is globalization and digital technology, which have made the way for international businesses to flourish across various nations. This is because global brands, fashionable clothes, and styles, which were limited to a particular country are now easily available in many countries. Moreover, advertisements have greatly influenced people to follow fashion trends. For the reason that many celebrities are made brand ambassadors and they start advertising for the products on television, newspapers, and social media. Thus, people become aware of what is trending in the market and it certainly creates an impulse in them to buy it online or from stores. In my opinion, this is beneficial for an individual because it helps in enhancing one’s personality. In other words, this boosts their self-confidence and body image. This is because people who are up to date are always looked upon by their colleagues and friends and are appreciated. To illustrate this, studies have shown that people who are stylish and trendy are more happy and cheerful. Furthermore, due to increasing demand, there has been tremendous growth in the business. This ultimately has increased the rate of employment in various sections like production, marketing, packaging, sales. Hence, it has reduced the percentage of the unemployed population significantly, which is good for any nation's development. In conclusion, as new fashion is accessible to people due to globalization, they can follow it with ease. It creates employment to a large extent, and also aids in boosting one’s personality and confidence. It is, therefore, indeed a positive development.