Some people think it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill.

It is believed by some that the government should allocate more resources into encouraging people to adopt a healthy lifestyle than into treatment for people with illnesses. In my opinion, although I think that raising health awareness in public would bring great benefits, I disagree that it is more important than finding treatment for those in need. On the one hand, the country in which promotes a healthy lifestyle could see an dramatic increase in the number of wholesome citizens who are both mentally and physically healthy. For example, people in the area where their local authorities spend money to invest in free gym facilities tend to do exercise more therefore stay away from the sedentary lifestyle. As a results, they would be more productive in their job, which greatly contributes to the prosper of a nation. This could also reduce the stress on the healthcare systems as less people have diseases such as diabetes which stem from an unhealthy lifestyle. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the authorities should also provide adequate subsidies for treatment of people who are already have diseases. First of all, they have the right to receive proper healthcare as they also contribute to the state revenue through their taxes. If a person has worked hard in all his life, he should be given some help from the government when he is sick. Moreover, from the ethical perspective, it would be unhumane to ignore ill people, especially to whom suffer from life-threatening situations. In conclusion, it is necessary to encourage people to follow a healthy lifestyle, but it is by no means ignoring those who in desperate need for treatment.