Some people think a simple lifestyle can preserve the environment, while others argue that technology itself can solve it.

In this technology-dominated age, the cutting-edge technologies has seemingly infiltrated almost all aspects of human’s lives. It is evident that the breakneck advance in the field of modern machinery brings about both beneficial and undesirable ramifications. Some people are of the opinion that the only way to tackle environment-related issues is to adopt an uncomplicated lifestyle, whilst others argue that new technologies can reverse environmental damage itself. From my own perspective, both justifications should be thoroughly taken into consideration before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, it is an inescapable truth that the world of nature is better preserved with the promotion of simple living standards. The high levels of exhaust fumes emitted by private vehicles have long been proven to be the main culprit of many environmental problems, namely air pollution and global warming. Should the practice of lessening the use of modern vehicles continue to persist in a certain period of time, it will drive an environmentally-friendly habitat. Moreover, the advent of some products has posed a looming threat to the natural environment. Take plastic bags as a prime example, for they are non-biodegradable, they will not be decomposed by the natural processes and thus possible detrimental to the world of nature. Given the aforementioned evidence, the notion that adoption to a simple lifestyle could alleviate environmental deterioration is justifiable. It should also be reckoned that technological advancement plays a pivotal role in the environmental preservation. Thanks to advances in solid waste management, the process of tackling products is greatly facilitated. Another point is that the use of alternative energy sources, namely solar and wind, would reduce the amount of greenhouse gas emissions, thereby significantly mitigate environmental damage. For example, any countries in the world has utilized alternative energy to generate power and negligibly affect the natural habitat. Therefore, I hold a firm belief in the benefits accrue to the practical applications of new technologies. All things considered, adoption to an uncomplicated lifestyle and technological landscape are both crucial for the sake of curbing the ecological issues. However, it is advisable that humans wisely exploit the applications of technology to attain optimal goals in the long run.