Some people think governments should take measures to improve the health of its citizens. Others think it must be managed by individuals.

There are both sociological and economical reasons to develop a healthy lifestyle and habits among individuals. After all, healthy citizens are the biggest asset of a nation. Some people, therefore, argue that the government should play an active role in ensuring that its citizens lead a healthy lifestyle. Others feel that it is up to the individual to decide how they should live. In my opinion, health is mainly a matter of individual responsibility. Even so, there are lots of things the government can do to promote a healthy lifestyle among its people. The government can make laws. It can ban things that are detrimental to the health of its people. For example, drugs are illegal in many countries. Some countries or states ban alcohol and cigarettes. In some countries, the government imposes a high tax on junk intending to discourage its consumption. All of these are measures that can have a positive impact on the health of the people. Another very beneficial thing that the government can do for its people’s health is making vaccinations mandatory. Even though vaccines are safe and effective, many communities refuse to administer them to their children citing religious or other invalid reasons. By enacting laws that make vaccinations mandatory, the government can save millions of children from the clutches of diseases and death. Having said that, health is extremely critical for an individual matter. The government cannot monitor the lifestyle of every citizen. Even in countries where drugs are illegal, people still use them. They smoke and drink. They eat junk food and spend too much time in front of the TV or computer. They are aware of the consequences of their actions; yet they are too lazy or too ignorant to change their lifestyle. The government cannot do much to help these people. To conclude, there are lots of things that the government can do to improve the health of its citizens. However, the government alone cannot create a healthy society. Individuals need to make a conscious effort too.