Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

Social work makes a person a good human being, so a group of individuals believes that some convicts should not be sent to jail, instead they should do free work at social places. I completely agree that it not only makes them good individuals but also saves governments' money. To begin with, if certain criminals made to do community work without any salary, then they can realize their mistakes and learn it. Therefore, they will not involve in criminal activities again and become a good human being. Consequently, there will be a reduction in the crime rate in the society. For instance, in the United States of America, the government sends minor crime convicts such as thieves to community centres to learn from their misdeeds so that they do not re-commit the crime. Hence, they become a social person. Moreover, it also saves numerous resources when some criminals sent to do help the people in the social service centres. This is because the government spent huge money to keep the prisoners behind the bars, so this money can be saved and used to invest in various development projects. For example, the Canadian government, according to a research report published in a newspaper, spent more revenue for education, infrastructure and health sector than other countries because they do not waste their resources by sending all the offenders to jail. Thus, it is apparent that it saves a lot of funds and can be used to develop the nation. To summarize, according to me, serving without getting any wages, make the convicts good individuals and ultimately save the efforts of the state.