Some people take the view that older children can take care of younger children, some others may hold the view that taking care of children should be done by other adults.

Considering the competitive world that we are currently living, parents are obliged to have full-time jobs in order to provide basic necessities of life. Accordingly, they are in a dilemma whether they should put the task of taking care of young children on the shoulder of the older ones or not. I adamantly believe that taking care of the children should not be done by the older children. First and foremost, children are not mature enough to take care of other members of the family especially younger children. They do not have well-rounded information to protect the children. As matter of fact, they have limited knowledge regarding what is appropriate and what is harmful to the children. Considering two children who are alone at home as an example. The older one turns the television on to amuse himself and his brother but since he cannot evaluate whether a specific show is appropriate or not, he decides to watch a show which is full of violence and inappropriate languages. Consequently, this decision could have various pernicious severe impacts on the behavior of them. More importantly, there are various internal and external factors which can easily distract children. Admittedly, children readily forget about their responsibility because of availability of various distraction. According to a report in the Hamshari newspaper which I have recently read. A mother of the family left home for ten minutes in order to go shopping and said to Ahmad, her ten years old child, to take care of his five years old brother. While Ahmad was watching his favorite cartoon on the television, his brother woke up and when wanted to come down the stair he felt and unfortunately it made irreversible damage to his brain. The child could not walk or talk in his life anymore. This example illustrates that children are lack of the protecting capability. In a nutshell, I truly believe that children should not shoulder the responsibility of protecting the younger children. It could have various detrimental consequences because they are not developed mentally and physically and the likelihood of neglecting their responsibility is a lot.