Some people say the Olympics Games are not relevant in the 21st century.

Internationally recognized games such as Olympic game has held significant value since time immemorial. It is disagreed that Olympic game is not important in our times. Analysing its role of uniting nations and popularity gained by athletes as well as improving the economy of the host country will prove this. First of all, during Olympic game, countries overlook their differences and participate in games together. For instance, South and North Korea have been involved in war for a long time, but during Olympic game, these two countries come together and engage in healthy competition. Therefore, during these internationally recognized games, nations put away their differences and compete healthily. Secondly, the aim of Olympic game was solely to stop the Second World War. The commencement of these games promoted peace and unity amongst countries that participated in the games. Futhermore, the host country benefits from hosting internationally recognized game. There is an increased growth in business. For instance, Brazil attained a high level of development by hosting Olympic game as well as world cup. Because of this, countries contest to host such big games so as to gain in every sector. Moreover, athletes gain international recognition by participating In Olympics. Athletes representing individual countries are well known once they win a trophy. To illustrate, Chioma Ajunwa who represented Nigeria in race back in 2004 is still a popular athlete all over the world because of her the multiple gold medals she won. In conclusion, I disagree that Olympic game is not inappropriate in this recent times because it has been helped in bringing nations together and also has contributed positively to the host country’s economy and development.