Some people say the best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide public transportation 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.

There is a common belief that only the free public transportation 24 hours a day and 7 days a week can address traffic jams. Although this proposal may be effective to some degree, I would argue that there are other better ways to alleviate the issue. Naturally, theoretically, free public transportation all the time could solve the traffic congestion. This is because this act can encourage the citizens to take public vehicles, such as buses or subways, rather than to drive private cars and there will be fewer cars on the road. When the public transportation become more frequently and intensive, it could replace the function of the private cars in daily life, so that there is no need for the citizens to drive their own cars in the rush hour. However, in fact, the free policy may not be that effective in solving traffic congestion. Since the buses are not convenient and the residents have to take a long time to the bus stations or stops, they may still choose to drive their own cars when they go out. To resolve the traffic problem, the government should improve the public transportation. For example, it can build more bus lines and stations, which can allow passengers to access easily and give up driving on their own. In addition, the government should increase the price of the petrol. Under the circumstance of higher cost of driving and the convenience of the public transportation, the local people may be more likely to choose not to drive their cars. All in all, in order to combat traffic jams, the government should not carry out just one policy—free public transportation, and it ought to ameliorate the public transit system and exert financial burden on the drivers who drive to work or shop.