Many people believe that the main aim of university education is to help graduates find better jobs, while some people believe that a university education has wider benefits for individuals and society as a whole.

Nowadays, many hold the view that higher education should focus on helping graduates land better jobs. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that university should care about graduates and the society. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion. To begin with, it is undeniable that university education which concentrates on college students’ employment could improve working condition. Because the university puts most of the effort on helping college students find a better position, they may set loads of professional courses that are specially designed for looking for jobs, which could train graduates’ employable skills. For example, some universities in China set all the courses for teaching specific working knowledge in order that students could have better job opportunities. On the other hand, nonetheless, higher education that aims for a whole improve of students and society is beneficial to socialization. This is because the activities organised by students union or some other clubs in these colleges could provide students with chances to know each other, becoming friends by frequency activities. Furthermore, universities put graduates and society into consideration would foster students’ interest. To be specific, the optional courses set by the school give students a chance to learn more about their favourite areas, making them enjoy the teaching and become more interested in these things. To summarise, there is no doubt that higher education which aims at graduates’ employment could help improve the employment problems. At the same time, nevertheless, colleges whose purpose is a comprehensive consideration would benefit the relationship between students and the development of students’ interest. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that comprehensive education is better.