Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Visits to important tourist destinations around the world have growth considerably over the last half century, and some people would say that this situation can be harmful for the people and environment in those places, while others may think that the increasing number of travelers could be beneficial for the economy. Although massive tourism can contribute to the generation of employment opportunities, I believe that ill-mannered tourists can be a treat to historic buildings. The main benefit of tourism is that the significant demand for going to famous locations, such as the Versailles Palace in France, or the Belvedere Museum in Vienna, contributes to the financial progress of the town, city or nation where the attraction is by creating jobs to maintain the site in adequate conditions for being visited, and for satisfying the necessities of goers and locals. For example, the Louvre Museum in Paris, France, is the most visited art museum in the world, and it requires around 10, 000 workers to function properly. However, tourism is not the most important source of employment in important historic sites, and authorities should be more focused on preserving their destinations rather than exploiting them. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of massive tourism is that it has led to irreparable damages to important monuments and buildings, and this may have happened thanks to the misbehaviour and ignorance of foreign visitors, because some of them do not care about the wellbeing of the place they visit. For instance, a group of Chinese citizens were arrested while sightseeing London in 2016 because they were caught vandalising the statues located in Trafalgar Square, which are made from a special type of marble. I believe that this behaviour is unacceptable, and governments in all countries should implement measures to protect their national landmarks. In conclusion, although tourism might boost the economy of popular destinations, it can also be a threat to the preservation of historic monuments.