Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. about this opinion?

There is an argue about whether or not we should spend too much attention and too many resources on protecting wild animals and birds. In my opinion, such attention and resources should be spent on more meaningful field. Not all of animals need people protection. Great resources and effort should only be spent to protect those which stand near the brink of extinction like rhino, lion, cheetah, . . . Giving rare species of animals good protection is a good way to prevent the smuggling of animal body' s parts like horn, bone or skin, . . . There are all so some downfalls of the effort to raise human' s consciousness. For example, In 2012, PETA requested Ubisoft, a game company, to eliminate sea animal hunting missions in the game Assassin' s Creed, Because they thought that It would be inappropriate to kill some sharks or whales in a game. While, PETA has killed thousand of stray dogs and cats due to the inability of taking care on of them at the same time. Researchers has putted a vast resources on bringing back some extincted birds by DNA modification and of course. The question is that What is the point of bringing back these extincted birds and then we must spent money to devise plans to protect them and built up the suitable habitats. It would be wiser, If we can shift thoes resources to develop grand plans to coop with the increasing of population, to reasonable treatments for those who live in third world countries, to prevent the warming of the Earth. In conclusion, only a slight amount of attention and resources is good for protecting animals and birds. What left should be spend on key fields.