planting trees is very important for the environment. some people say trees should be planted in the vacant area of cities and towns while other believes housing facilities should be built instead

It is undeniable that trees play an important role in protecting our environment. Therefore, despite many arguments over having more housing constructions in urban areas, I believe that governments should consider planting more trees as the priority. Many scientists have warned us that if we want to enhance our living environment, we should increase the number of trees in our surroundings. Firstly, trees reduce temperatures by shade and transpiring water. Thus, this can help to decrease energy costs for cooling cities which are often hotter than the countryside due to their buildings and the machinery. Studies have even proven that the cooling effect of one mature tree is equal to that of 10 room-sized air conditioners. Secondly, trees are the most effective method to improve air quality for their ability of producing oxigen. Air pollution in cities is a serious environmental problem, especially in developing countries. In an attempt to cut down emissions from motor traffic, governments have tried countless ways such as banning cars in certain parts of the city in specific hours or encouraging people to use public transport. However, planting more trees appears to be more effortless, eco-friendly and have a longer-term impact on the environment. Other people would argue that as overpopulation is becoming more problematic for governors in urban planning, building more housing facilities to adapt the necessities of the population are more vital than growing more trees. Nonetheless, I maintain my belief that urban development and environmental protection can go hand in hand. For instance, Singapore is well-known for its green environment with 29, 3% of trees in the city. Instead of narrowing their parks to have more space for construction, they plant more trees on top and in every corner of the buildings so that they can continue to maintain green life in the city. In conclusion, I firmly think that urbanisation and modernisation do not mean to cut down trees to save space for buildings and houses. In fact, planting more trees is a sustainable and long-lasting method to protect our living environment and prolong our well-being.