Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Individuals may have various reasons for learning a new language. Some folks opine that working overseas and travel are the sole reasons behind that, however others believe some other desires are involved in perusing a foreign language. In the following paragraphs, I am going to delve both opinions and elaborate on them. Learning a new language, first of all, is so demanding in terms of time and effort. Taking the first step to learning a language, one have to allocate hefty amount of his daily time and energy for accomplishing that. In other words, one cannot consider it as a pampering pursuit in his idle time. When I started learning French as my third language, I almost practiced at least one hour a day for just building the corn stones of this new language. Thus, Should someone get a through command of one language, they might dedicate majority of their idle time developing the building blocks of that language. Considering these provisions for learning, some individuals are of the opinion that only making money in the destination country or visiting there can make some one convinced to become multilingual. On the other hand, some argue that there should be diverse stimulus for learning a new language. Although it is time consuming and onerous, they may have reflected on the other incentives such as getting familiar with foreign cultures or enjoying their arts. As Language and culture are intrinsically linked, One can enjoy destination’s music and movies by knowing the language and the advantages are not only confined to being present in destination’s territory. Other benefits engendered by being multilingual is doing translations. Such is the importance of second language proficiency that some people may easily find a lucrative job through translating some lines of that language. As a result, the earned remuneration is totally worth the difficulties of learning. Furthermore, as demonstrating a movie worldwide necessitates movie translations, some producers hire subtitle translators in order to reach higher audiences and release it globally. Therefore, movie translation which is both desirable and remunerative can be individual’s stimuli to embark on learning a language. To conclude, even though there are various views regarding the aims of language learning, I hold the opinion that language can have multitude compelling benefits and it is not solely restrained to working in destination country or travel.