Some people say that the main purpose of television should be education while others says it should be for entertainment only.

Television has been the source of entertainment since its invention. The contemporary has originated two schools of thought. There is one with the belief that it should be used primarily for the educative purpose while there are others who want it to be a source of entertainment only. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints and will also discuss why I want it to be used for both the learning and amusement. To begin with, those who want to limit the use of television to education only believes the advent of technology has brought several ways of entertainment such as mobile phones, tablets, video games. Although these gadgets can be equally used for learning it depends on the usage of the children and can’t keep an eye on them all the time. To illustrate, children are given mobile phones to take help in their studies or convey the message to their parents during their late arrival at home, but the depressing thing is that they spend most of their time on social media platforms. Another reason is that it will help parents to make their children devote some time to learning new things. This is because of the cut-throat competition demands for the high IQ from each of the pass outs. Considering the future of children people favor this notion. On the other, some people want to have entertainment on television. Firstly, many people in developing countries belong to the lower middle class. Television is the only source of entertainment for them. For example, those who do labor for earnings cannot afford any technology or trip to any hill station. They have hardly managed to bring a television to their home to relax their minds. Secondly, the old age in our society is not prompt in learning new technologies. Television is the medium which helps them to pass their free time at home. They are much likely to watch religious programs to avoid travel to any particular place. Hence, masses just want to have entertainment only. To conclude, television is still an important part of life. I believe that television should serve both the purpose of education and entertainment. It will quench the thirst of all types of audiences. It just depends on the utility, priority and not on restriction. This essay discussed that single focused television will help in building the IQ of children and will add a source of education to the list of students. This essay also discussed the importance of entertainment importance for poor and old age.