Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

As more of us are becoming aware of environmental issues, it is often said that the loss of biodiversity is the main concern to humanity. While the extinction of some species is no doubt alarming, I believe that other equally important problems should also not be overlooked. On the one hand, it is true that the alarmingly increasing disappearance of various precious species is dangerously threatening the ecological balance on Earth. Human activities, such as agriculture and animal trade are a major cause of biodiversity loss, which could potentially lead to more often natural disasters like flash floods, tsunamis and cyclones. For instance, deforestation happening in the Amazon rainforest, which is home to more than one third of all species in the world, is putting thousands of valuable plants and animals on the verge of extinction, including the perishment of the Spix Macaw, which was featured in the 2011 animated film “Rio”. Hence, more attention should definitely be paid to this worrying issue. However, I tend to side with those who argue that there are a range of other evenly emergent matters. Foremost among them is the major issue of pollution of air, water and soil, which directly affects the life of all living creatures on this planet. If human beings continue their daily activities irresponsibly, it will possibly result in the depletion of all mankind, plants and animals. Another great concern is the main problem of overpopulation where tonnes of natural resources are consumed on a daily basis to serve the needs of every individual in the world. Without a proper plan or program to restructure the world’s population, no one can assure that people will be able to live in harmony and comfort in the next century. In conclusion, it seems to me that we should take into consideration all environmental concerns including biodiversity loss, severe pollution and population explosion.