According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourist in the 1960s and 70s, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happen? How was tourism different in the past?

It is true that an increasing number of modern tourists have a tendency to spend their entire holiday in a small resort, without exploring the rich cultural heritage of the local area where they travel to. The causes of this appear to be focused on two areas and such present tourist patterns are quite different compared to the past. Perhaps the major factor here is the idleness resulting from high workload and stress. For example, in the workplace, employees are expected to work under high pressure and the excessive time spent at work could lead to long lasting tiredness or fatigue. When these people take some weeks off for vacation, they seem to be too lazy to do further exploration about the lifestyles or traditions of local inhabitants. A secondary cause is the problems with many tourist destinations themselves where visitors might suffer from being robbed or ripped off by indigenious people. This could lead to the idea that it is possibly better and safer to stay in the resorts only. In my opinion, there is a huge difference between modern and past tourism. Comparing to today’s tourists, our past generations were likely to experience all aspects of life where they paid a visit to. For instance, my parents always share their wonderful time of hands on experience while they stayed with a tribal community in the Amazon rainforest. Another disparity is that some old resorts and vacation spots were not be able to provide all necessary services like catering or recreation, this would result in hotel guests searching for food or fun activities to enjoy outside the resort area. In conclusion, laziness and locals’ offences against tourists seem to be the main factors behind this problem. Also, there is a great dissimilarity between today and old days’ tourism.