Some people say that teaching local history to school children is more important than teaching world history to them.

Critics claims that, students should learn about local history and this is more vital than knowing world history, while others believe that teaching world history should be prior than that of local history to provide the bigger picture of history to children for their understandability. In my opinion, I believe that the world history has more vital information than that of local history, because world history is usually talked and used in daily lifestyles compared to the local history. Teaching local history to children seems vital because it provides the general knowledge about their genetic backgrounds, so that it brings more interest to children which can easily draw their attentions. Therefore, some people claim that teaching local history is vital than knowing the world history, which has no direct relation to children. In contrast, the world history has more valuable information than that of local history. Students can easily grasp the full picture of history by learning the world history only. If students only learn about local history, they might not understand the full historical events. Also, students can feel that local history is not that practical compared to world history, because the world history can be the common topic since the local history is the specific topic which can only talk with local people. In my opinion, knowing about the world history has beneficial value than that of local history. When people are talking about the current issue, they would like to refer back in the past in order to compare the current issue. For example, the biggest terror happened in 9/11, every year the USA media or the public referred back to the time of the event and memorial for the loss. If schools only learnt about local history, they would have difficulties understanding with the current issues. Thus, teaching children about the world history is more important than local history for socialization reasons. In conclusion, learning about the local history can easily attract children’s attention by knowing about their family histories. However, world history is more important to learn for children’s socialization reasons, because the world history can be the common issue which can talk in normal daily lives. Hence, it is important to teach children about world history prior to the local history.