While many people opine that drug smugglers should be punished by death row, others completely oppose this idea and argue that a less severe punishment should be in action. Recently, Australia urged Indonesia not to execute drug smugglers on death row.

In the present age, It is an undeniable fact that drug abuse has become a sparked debate all over the world, including Indonesia are taking part of this issue, mainly because Indonesia is one of the largest ocean countries of the world. There is a growing number of people who argue that drug abuse, in Indonesia, is considered as the biggest issue compared to the worldwide’s cases because Indonesian government are not seriously taking some measures to tackle this problem. These people thought that by executing drug smugglers on death row measured as the best solution to reduce such case. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this statement, and in further paragraphs, I will support my opinion by some examples. To begin with, first and foremost, Indonesia is one of the largest multicultural countries and one of the biggest democratic countries all over the world. When Indonesian government officials decide everything related to policies, including drug smugglers, they have to consult with other stakeholders, namely practitioners, expertise, academicians, and societies as a whole. According to a new Indonesia president point of view, death row or death penalty, as well as Indonesian, called it, is not a proper solution to deal with this kind of problem mainly because it will lead to another problem. To implement this punishment is not as simple as it looks and there some implications. Furthermore, there are a variety of the possible solutions to cope with this issue. Firstly, the government should analyse the reasons behind drug smuggling that are conducted by both Indonesian and foreigners. Secondly, they have to implement strict rule both in airport and seaport, for instance, if officers on duty in both areas are not  doing their work properly, for example, suspected of bribery with drug smugglers, the government have to punish them with a brutal punishment. Lastly, Indonesian government coordinates with other countries how to deal with this view. To sum up, whether or not drug smugglers should be punished by death row, from my view, death row is not the right