Some people say that supermarkets and manufactures have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on the products they sell. Others say that it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging.

One of the more recent environmental topics, that has been discussed, is who has responsibility for product packaging; is it those that make it and sell it, or those that buy it? The following essay will go both sides of this dilemma and explain why I believe it should be the manufacturers/sellers that should take on the responsibility of reducing the packing with products. Let first look at the consumers. When people buy a product, whether this is a loaf of bread or an iPhone, they don’t have any choice about how much packaging is used. They can choose not to buy a particular product if they feel that the producers use too much, but in my opinion, this is an unlikely circumstance as most people either won’t even think about the packaging, or if they do, won’t be too bothered about it. Looking at the flip side of this situation, I believe that, as it’s the manufacturers and supermarkets that are creating the products and buying them from suppliers before selling, they should be the ones that have a duty to reduce, as much as possible, any packaging particularly if it’s plastic. Some companies such as Apple have already made moves to limit the amount of superfluous space in order to reduce the waste it creates. Overall then, I firmly believe that the companies that produce and sell packaging should be the ones responsible for limiting the waste packing that enters the environment rather than the consumer, as they have no control over the amount used.