Some people say that shops should sell food products from the local area whenever possible, rather than selling food that has been imported from other countries.

Two centuries ago, farmers locally produced food and sold it to the local market. However, the industry has gradually undergone a major transformation in recent years due to globalization and urbanization. This is the case because people no longer live in places where the food grows because globalization has led people to migrate to urban cities. The availability of various food items throughout the world has brought about numerous benefits to people around the world. However, some experts believe that shops should sell the food items which are produced locally and avoid selling the imported food items. I personally believe that sales of local food items should be preferred over the sales of food items from other countries. The primary reason for avoiding the sales of imported food items is that the food items from transnational corporations undermine the interests of local farmers and local food producers. Small farmers and producers can struggle because as transnational corporations gain more power through trade agreements, subsidies, and increased demand through investments abroad. They begin controlling many aspects of local food systems. For instance, transnational corporations control the whole food chain, from the production, trade, and processing, to the marketing, retailing, and distribution of food. Additionally, much of this control is concentrated within a few big companies rather than millions of smallholders. Globalization affects this kind of market power in three ways. First, foreign companies become competitors with domestic producers by supplying food products to the domestic market. Second, this puts pressure on domestic producers, including small farmers, to lower their prices and increase their standards. Lastly, if domestic producers cannot lower their costs and increase standards without going bankrupt, they are forced to leave the market. This process allows transnational corporations to dominate domestic industries and put small producers out of business. A prime example can be when transnational corporations sell their food products at prices below the cost of production for farmers in developing countries, so it becomes increasingly difficult for domestic producers to compete. To conclude sales of food products supplied by international competitors have a profound impact on the local economy. Overall, there needs to be greater dialogue on accountability and corporate social responsibility of transnational corporations; better support, protection, and resources for small farmers and producers in developing countries; increased funding in agriculture by the government; and an international policy framework that draws standards on competition and trade policy.