Some people say that schools do not do enough to teach young people about health.

Schools are the educational backbone for the young generations. Despite the plenty of sources to get information from like the Internet and media, school still represent the main gate of information for the students. The educational system may differ from country to another on what they do focus on. Some schools keep its curriculum updated and wide to contain all the essential knowledge including health-related topics. Health is an important subject to be covered in the school classes. The student needs to build up the basic knowledge regarding diseases and most importantly about prevention of the diseases. They have to understand the concept of prevention is more important than cure. For example, teenagers and elder must be educated about infectious disease transmission routes. A good example for that is avoiding sharing tools that exposed to blood and blood products to prevent diseases like HIV and hepatitis. Another good example is how to prevent the spread of the more common diseases like the flu. Washing hands and using masks are easy, but effective methods. So, schools need to reconsider this issue and give it the priority. Despite the importance of the health, some educational systems are not giving it their attention. That may due to several factors, one of them is that the schedule is already busy with other subjects. Second, They need specialized people to deliver the correct information. Third, They may assume that the other sources are enough to deliver such information, for example: media and Internet. Such factors could make the mission more difficult, but not impossible. In conclusion, Education for the new generation for their health is an important topic to be considered in the school curriculum given the great benefit and outcome will get from it. Disease prevention is definitely one of them. In my opinion, although there are some obstacles, but with extra efforts and good plans, we can overcome them.