Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it.

In the salad days of the millennium, the society is polarised into two groups almost equally. Regarding the notion that, whether environment protection is the duty of the government or its responsibility for individuals. However, different people have their distinct mindset. From my standpoint, it will be more beneficial if both the country’s authorities and individuals share the burden. The following paragraphs would cast light on both the approaches before making a final note. On the one hand, some people feel that everyone of us should take care of our safety as police cannot be present everywhere at all times and this is true. For instance, the thefts could occur in shops. The police cannot be present there all the time to prevent such incidents. Hence, it is the liability of the shop owners to take preventive measures such as installing an alarm or placing guards outside the shop. Customers also need to take care of their belongings to ensure that they are not robbed. Such measures can prevent many criminal acts from occurring. Thus, it is evident that each individual has a responsibility to ensure their safety. On the other hand, there is a limit to what a person can do on their own. Only governments can enforce strict laws to keep the crime rate in check. Stringent laws will act as a deterrent and reduce the misdeed rate to a great extent. For example, in the Middle East (write: the Middle East) the punishments for each and every corruption are so harsh that people do not dare to break any laws; as a result the crime rate in the Middle Eastern countries is the lowest in the world, whereas in India the crime percentage keeps on rising year after year because the laws are lenient and more often than not the criminals are let off very easily. Unfortunately, this encourages others to commit misdeed. Hence, the state has to own up the responsibility and enforce stern laws that will discourage people from committing crimes. In conclusion, due to the large amount of work involved, mobilising all the possible forces is a more sensible approach. It is, therefore, likely that joint efforts of both the governments and their citizens would result in the most effective way of preserving the climate.