Some people say that private schools should not be allowed to exist. Why do people believe this? What is your opinion?

Some people are opposed to the existence of private schools, and believe that they should be prohibited. Even though they make some arguments against these schools, I think that private schools have some advantages for the public. Two reasons are given by those who are on the opinion that private schools should be removed. Firstly, these schools cause inequality in competition. They have extensive opportunities, such as more advanced computer-based education, a wider range of schoolbooks, and highly paid, so more qualified teachers, so they give only rich students who can afford high tuition fees the chance to become more successful in their life. Those pupils may get higher scores in the university exams than their fellows’ studying in the public schools, get into prestigious universities, and make a distinguished career in any profession; consequently, they become respected members of the society. For example, the most reputable financial corporation in the United States are inclined to recruit graduates from private schools to those having diplomas from public schools as they think that the former is more skilful than the latter. Secondly, according to those who are against the private schools, particularly in developing countries, they undermine the national unity of the people. In other words, private schools generate an alienation within the youth; as a result, schoolchildren being educated in these schools begin to turn away, and look down on their societies, and even serve for the interests of developing or imperialist countries but contrary to their own. Thus, inequality and alienation are two basic words used by those while criticizing the private schools. Although in the view of some people concerned about their educational programme, private schools have some drawbacks, it can be said that they possess numerous advantages for the progress of the societies. Firstly, unlike public schools, the magnitude of classes make private schools suitable for training. As classes are not so crowded, they facilitate for tutors to deal with children’s every kind of problem about the related lesson more closely, motivate them to improve their skills convenient to their competence, so these schools make it easy for young people to become more efficient in their job, and even reach to the top level in their career. To illustrate, a research conducted in Canada between 2010 and 2015 shows that schoolboys or schoolgirls who have good relationship with their teachers become more productive in their work life. Secondly, private schools have another benefit for their students such as healthy or balanced diet. They pay attention to the pupils’ nutrition, carry out careful programmes, including diversity in vegetables and fruits, high energy and protein, so that they create more capable people than public schools can do. Therefore, in some ways, notably by qualification of classes and healthy nourishment, private schools train able generations for that country’s future. In conclusion, private schools may provide small number of children with a more developed education, and have a risk such as producing a generation disdain for its own people, but I think that its benefits compel governments to allow them to maintain their educational activities.