Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, prefer to take risks and think that change is a positive thing.

Nobody could deny that, in our fast-paced world, things rarely stay the same. We can choose to embrace change or try to avoid it. Whether we consider change to be positive or negative probably depends, to a large extent, in our personality type. Introverts tend to seek stability and fear change. This is partly because having a set routine reduces stress and require less cognitive activity. Life can feel a great deal more manageable without challenges and you can operate successfully within your comfort zone. A related point is that those who hide from change hardly ever put themselves at risk. Life for them is significantly safer. Another explanation put forward by many who adopt this strategy is that they find life satisfying and there is, therefore, little point in seeking anything different. Extroverts thrive on variety. By seeking out new experiences they give themselves the opportunity to widen their horizons, grow emotionally, develop new skills and abilities and increase the size of their social circle. As a result of this attitude, they are likely to experience economic benefits. What's more, as they try new things, they are bound to find the excitement and pleasure, and certain to escape the boredom and misery which they believe would result from repeating the same activities again and again. Many introverts are genuinely perplexed by the apparent need of others to constantly search for novelty. Similarly, extroverts imagine that the lives of those who prefer stability must be monotonous, tedious and dull. In reality, most of us would benefit from being slightly more balanced. Those who crave adventure might actually enjoy a little calmness and tranquility, while some stimulation and an occasional challenge would brighten the existence of those who try to keep it at a distance.