Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countries such as Australia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study in English? Why is English such an important international language?

Recently there has been much interest in gaining a better understanding of the role the English language plays in modern citizen's life. It is believed that many students, nowadays, are migrating to urban cities and countries to acquire further education. In this essay, I will expound on the reason for this trend before providing justification for the importance of English in today's era. There is one clear reason for moving to another country to study English is that they can acquire more competence over the English language. It goes without saying that when a person lives in an English speaking country and uses English to talk, read, write, etc. , he/she will become fluent in the English language compared to living in his/her hometown where he/she uses native language. Maybe there is some truth in this claim, and some empirical evidence can be provided to support it. A 2007 study, for instance, conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that those international students from the same university reported that their level of English has been improved significantly after studying at the university. There are many blatant and obvious reasons as to why English is such a crucial language and accepted worldwide. To my mind, one of the most potent reason is academic research criteria. Indeed, numerous scientific theories have been written and published in English. In fact, those who want to conduct further research, they have to pursue in the English language, otherwise, it will not be accepted globally. Moreover, there are many international businesses around the world mainly regulated by developed English speaking countries. Therefore, those who want in those companies, they must have proficiency over English to communicate fluently. My Friend, Tina, is a shining example of this. Although she tried very hard to find a work opportunity, she was not able to obtain it since she didn't have English certification. Afterward, she joined an English institution and achieved it. Before she knew it, she was offered an opportunity at an international bank. To sum up, many individuals travel to other developed countries to improve their English level and it is important to learn English to perform academic research and to work in big companies.