Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The Essay: There is often a debate as to whether children should be motivated by parents to take part in team activities in their spare time, or it is critical that they acquire the skill to remain engaged by themselves. Advocates of the view that children ought to learn about keeping busy without assistance from others, contend that they would have the advantage of being self-reliant and organized. Moreover, they would be less influenced by others’ opinions and develop the art of decision making. This quality would do them good in adulthood. On the other hand, when children participate in group or team acts with the encouragement of parents, they get immense exposure and tend to be more active. They see their peers doing the same activity in different ways and inculcate adaptability by learning new things. For example, when the renowned cricketer Sachin Tendulkar enrolled in a cricket team on the advice of parents, he learnt new techniques and subsequently went on to be India’s top player. Additionally, planned group activities with the motivation of parents will teach children valuable life skills of team work, leadership, compatibility and empathy amongst others, since they are tried and tested to be beneficial. Furthermore, there would be fewer chances of mishaps occurring inadvertently during their engagements, since children are generally more hyperactive. In conclusion, in my point of view, it is certainly good for children to be exhorted by parents into collective activities in their leisure hours. Nonetheless, some time should also be set aside when children get training on doing things on their own with no parental intervention, since this would make them independent.