The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum.

There is no doubt that physical exercise is an integral part of our lives and plays a crucial role to keep everyone healthy. A number of health enthusiasts, therefore, suggest that physical tutorials should be inherited in schools, thus aiming to deal with critical health-related issues afterwards. However, I do not accord with the above mentioned statement, especially in terms of including an entire curriculum in the education system, and in this essay, I will highlight my views with pertinent examples. One concern in terms of time and money is that if a formal school gets associated to develop it's physical education modules and seasoned tutors, many hours along with money will be invested in a grey area. The reason for this is that any kind of workout or manual labour depends on a person's willingness - not on awareness. For instance, boarding schools, where physical activities are heavily emphasized, often face a few obese pupils, who are neither motivated or interested. Furthermore, it would be barely feasible to measure someone's interest to lose her/his weight in the future after introducing such programmes. Another significant problem is that mandated participation would not produce the best output, whereas active people are usually being committed to do a morning walk or an evening run voluntarily. As the end result of the physical education cannot be ensured, people may not be nudged to become slim after their graduation. For example, Olympic athletes are often driven to pursue their career in a running field or a swimming track for their passion, which cannot be brought forcefully. As a possible consequence of pushing it forward, young minds could alter to be more rebellious rather than fitter. In conclusion, a class dedicated to enhancing the physical state would not only be costly and time consuming, but also be strict to many kids and adolescents, who will be enrolled there for the sake of their attendance - not for pursuing it religiously.