Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

While some have an opinion that children should learn to keep themselves busy, other people believe that children should be encouraged by their parents to involve in group activities. This essay will look into how a child should spend their spare time before drawing a final conclusion. On the one hand, there are many children who do not get along with others easily because of several reasons. Moreover, they may be living in a place where they could not find other children in the neighborhood. Due to this, they are required to keep themselves occupied on their own and find some activities that can be done alone. This can be helpful for them to think creatively and do some innovative things. For example, a research paper published by a well-known university sates that 60% of children who mostly stay alone turned out to be great thinkers. On the other hand, group activities allow a child to enhance their communication and teamwork skills. These skills are extremely important for children to learn, because when their practical life begins, they have to deal with a lot of people and work in an office with other employees as a team. For instance, being part of a sports team teaches them to communicate effectively with others, and how one should work as a team. Hence, I strongly believe that parents should back their children to be part of things where they have to interact with others. Doing so will not only prepare them for adult life but also provide them skills that will help in their future. To conclude, although children should know how to stay busy, when alone, in their leisure time, it is more important for them to gain knowledge of abilities that will be helpful in practical life.