Some people think studying in groups is better, while some think self study is better for school students.

A unique aspect of college culture is studying in groups, whilst some students prefer self-study. Both styles do have the advantages in the study, but the colleges usually tend to encourage teamwork. On the one hand, self-study can boost students’ self-esteem. In particular, they can take control over their own learning. And when students have control, they become even more interested in learning and more confident learners. They are able to see themselves as an independent person who is able to learn new things without anyone helping them. This can be a major motivation boost for students. On the other hand, group-study requires the cooperation from students. Many students begin to realize the abundance of material that was covered during their academic terms. It is at that moment that many students break down, feel incredibly overwhelmed, and begin questioning their academic future. They were advised to create groups of peers who all come together to work on essays, exams, readings, quizzes and general homework. The peers have different learning styles and can help others to better comprehend material, and vice versa. Furthermore, study groups can be either intensely quiet or extremely loud, and rarely an in-between. They can range from a lengthy far-reaching conversation which allows students to debate with friends for finding solutions together to seemingly endless hours of doing homework in silence as individuals in the company of friends. Overall, self-study has a merit of building the independence whilst group-study has a benefit towards collaboration among members but not implies the dependence. While everyone can be self-learner, the study groups require more than two in order to have the sharing. Hence, the teamwork is an essential skill for the college life.