Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those live in houses.

It is often said that residing in high-rise buildings is far better than living in single houses in terms of the spirit of communal connection. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, two main reasons are to blame for why some might argue that apartment living might result in the feelings of loneliness or even segregation. Firstly, it is incredibly difficult to create a voluntary community service or social event for every household in a block of flats to join in with the hope of strengthening their relationship. That is to say, each member of such social group could have less chance to meet up and socialize with others, which negatively leads to a lonely experience for them all. Secondly, inhabiting in the same living space could possibly produce anger or more dangerously conflicts between every member a high-rise due to varied lifestyles and interests. For instance, a person might love singing karaoke at night which could end up as a disaster for his or her neighbors who might prefer to be quiet and tranquil. By contrast, I tend to side with those who propose the idea of dwelling in tenement houses triggering a far better community sense. The supporters of this view highlight that the factor of close proximity of flat life potentially enhances the probability of creating lifelong connections. If an average dweller feels a bit bored or needs a confidant to turn to, he could easily find one simply by knocking on his next-door neighbor. Another powerful argument toward this viewpoint is the element of accessibility to almost everything you need as living in a condominium. The majority of these residential areas have built-in shopping centers, clinics or even schools. Again, we can see that those public sectors greatly generate more opportunities to hang out or chat with acquaintances living next-door. My uncle Tony, for example, has been a lot happier since he moved in a hi-rise where he finds a greater feeling of togetherness. In conclusion, although there are some possible drawbacks of inhabiting a condo, it seems to me that this lifestyle can definitely lead to a better sense of community for the residents.