Some people say that it is individual’s responsibility to protect the environment while others say it is the government’s primary role.

Since the start of industrial age, humans have altered the natural world at an unprecedented pace. Although many environmental advocates believe that the government’s main task is to safeguard the environment, others argue that it is every man’s duty to look after it. There are valid points supporting each side. The national authorities are responsible to keep the natural habitats since they have the power to implement environmental protection laws. They can strictly impose prohibition against poaching, logging and illegal fishing, all of which are the main elements behind the dwindling numbers of species across many countries. They can also ban the the use of plastics, metric tons of which enter the oceans every year. In this way, the oceanic biodiversity that was severely loss due to plastic pollution may be restored. Finally, if the government start increasing carbon tax, this could put pressure on energy corporations to replace fossil fuels with renewable energy such as wind and solar power that may lessen the impact of human-caused global warming. Individuals have their duties, too. They should be in charge in sustaining the ecosystem in order to secure their survival. Millions of people die each month due to the lack of clean water as rivers and lakes are continuously being polluted. This is why it is important for every household to properly dispose their waste and learn proper water conservation. Furthermore, research has shown that contaminated air caused by cigarette smoking and smoke-belching cars has resulted in thousands of death annually, mostly involving children suffering from lung diseases. Because of this, smokers need to understand the consequences of their bad habit to the society which may discourage them to smoke and motorists must subject their vehicles to emission testing regularly. In conclusion, both the government and its citizens have their own roles to play in protecting the environment. I believe that through the sum of their efforts, planet Earth will have a sustainable future.