Some people say that it is individual responsibility to protect the environment while others say it is the government's primary role.

It is thought by some people that it is an individual responsibility to preserve the environment whereas others assert that it is the government’s major role. In my opinion, the government can effective preserve it since they have the power to impose strict rules and regulation against environmental degradation. The government has the authority that can impose rules and regulations. With the emergence of the industrialization era, pollution has increased by several folds. By imposing heavy penalties and taxes against industries, the government curbs industrial wastes which are the main causative factor for air and water pollution. For example, after the implementation of environmental preservation act by the state of Maharashtra, the various industries started practicing proper waste and sewage disposal which in turn reduced the water pollution by one third saved millions of liter of water from being contaminated. Such a dramatic change is not practically possible by individual endeavors. One the other hand, individual can make certain changes to contribute to environmental preservation. With judicious use of material like plastics, they can considerably reduce pollution. For instance, when masses embarked to opt for paper bags against plastic carry bags, a host of renowned industries dwindled plastic production. Similarly, if an individual commute by public transport rather than their private vehicle, then it will not only diminish greenhouse gas emission which is responsible for global warming but also preserve natural resources. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion, I believe in preserving our ecosystem the government can bring some huge changes which including high fines and regulation.