Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

As a human culture heritage, art not only combines people’s wisdom and creativity, but also represents the unique tradition. Therefore, in order to pass it on, the purity and uniqueness of art should be preserved well. Government is responsible to give the financial support, especially for those art full of historical value. The truth is same with sports. The meaning of Olympic teams has been more than the original goal of keeping fit and accumulating strength. the prosperous sports of a nation marks the whole level of and the comprehensive ability of the nation. Therefore art and sports both should be supported financially by governments. First of all, the support from government is conducive to protecting the traditional art formation. Nowadays, due to the ignorance of young people, many heritages our ancestors left are facing dangers. Take Chinese paintings as an example. Although Chinese paintings possesses thousands of years of history, young artists express more passion for modern art formation. Many art school even cancelled the courses concerning traditional Chinese paintings. If financial support was given, some young artists may start to engage in this kind of traditional art formation, subsequently more Chinese paintings exhibitions may attract people’s attention. In this way, it might get people’s attention again. Once a certain art formation is bought to the limelight, its value will be acknowledged by more people, and youngsters will tend to start to cherish the hidden essences and provide their own support. Besides, if more foundations were built, the national art will have the opportunity to be accepted by the whole world. Great artists or groups will get supported to go on a world show tour. They will take advantage of these international tours to spread the essences and value of the art and get them understood by foreigners. Once a certain art formation gained the reputation abroad, its impact will stretched out. Peking opera is a good example. If this culture treasure could perform in other nations, it will be the window through which outer world know the uniqueness of Chinese culture and Chinese value. In the same way, money spent in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams by government benefits athletics and the nation. With the financial support from government, coaches and athletics can possess better training instruments. Higher pay can also improve athletics’ life and health conditions. Apart from these, setting up a more scientific and developed sports competitive system helps cultivate potential members who can get gold medals in international competition such as Olympics, obtaining honor for the nation and their families. So the international image of the nation enhanced enormously. Those essences hidden in the different art formations are supposed to be acknowledged by the public. The involves support from government. Only with an energetic and efficient national support system was built and developed, art and sports will be acknowledged and supported by all the people.