Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

It is argued that schools and universities are focusing more on teaching theoretical facts rather than practical skills. This statement could be partially true to some extent, however teaching the basic concepts and facts are necessary for students to learn the practical skills. Therefore, I disagree with this conviction and will support my view in this essay. Firstly, schools and universities are ought to teach theoretical facts as an essential component of their academic criteria. That is to say, students gain the fundamental understanding of concepts and ideas of the studied subject such that leads to learning the practical skills as well. In other words, deep understanding of the basics are the foundation for learning the practical skills. So, although more time is spent for learning the basics, it ultimately serves for learning the practical skills. Secondly, schools and universities nowadays are aware of the relative importance for providing students with practical knowledge and skills relevant to the workforce. Science majors, for instance, are including a training component in all taught classes where students are encouraged to apply the concepts they learned in a real life situation and develop their own ideas. By looking at the curriculum of most universities, one can see that at least 50% of the offered classes are focusing on mixing hypothesis with application and developing practical skills. To conclude, spending more time learning the basic concepts and fundamentals is necessary for learning the practical skills. Therefore, both skills are correlated and are treated as such in the universities’ catalog.