Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true this statement? How far colours influence people's health and capacity for work?

It is often believed that there should be some specific colour patterns to be followed while decorating workplaces, schools and hospitals. I do believe with this statement, as it can motivate people to work and influence their health. In this essay, I would explain my view and describe the importance of colour in one’s health and job. All people have a favourite colour or colours, and people even dislike some and it has got an impact on how someone behaves. For example, if a boss is angry over an employee and the employee wears an outfit with colours disliked by him, it would further increase his anger and vice versa, if the staff wears a dress and it's colour is soothing for the employer. So, colours as asserted by psychologists has some impact. Furthermore, when a hospital is painted, colours should be taken into consideration. The paint on the walls affect the mood of the patients and their health. For instance, a patient with a minor ailment when admitted to a ward, and is afraid of blood, when sees the walls and ceilings, red in colour, would further make him more agitated as the always see the bright colour. Therefore most of the hospitals have rooms white in colour, as it is light and soothing for the eyes and good for relaxation. To conclude, the colouring has an influence on peoples’ behaviour, hence, it is necessary to use apt colours for decorating buildings, hospitals and schools, both exteriors and interiors.