Some people say that health care and education should be the responsibility of the government but others think that it is the responsibility of the individuals themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, health care and education have become the focus of the people's concern. It is a highly debated issue as to who should pay for these services. There are those who argue that the government should pay for them while others think the costs should be shouldered by individuals. Personally, I think that basic healthcare and primary education should be on the government but advanced health care and higher education should be borne by the individual. It is irrefutable that it is the government's responsibility to make basic health care and primary education accessible to everyone. The reason is that a nation's prosperity very much depends on the contribution made by its well- educated citizens who are in good health. After all we all pay taxes and so we are entitled to get something back in return. Private schools and private hospitals can be available for those who want and can afford it but the free schools and free government hospitals should always be there. On the other hand, individuals should be responsible for their advanced health care. Actually, the advanced medical and surgical treatments are very expensive. So, instead of depending on government we should take some health insurance or save in any other way with the tomorrow in mind. Higher education, too, benefits the individual more than the nation. So it is quite reasonable to pay for it from one's pocket. There are, of course, some sections of society who cannot afford their own healthcare. The government should have some system of knowing their financial status and provide free healthcare so that nobody dies for want of treatment. As far as higher education is concerned, the government can have some system of interest free loans for the needy and meritorious students. To sum up, basic education and primary education should be borne by the government but advanced health care and education should be paid by the individual from his pocket.