Some people say that having a lot of TV channels is good, while others argue that it reduces the quality of programs.

Television has become the most pervasive of all media. Some would argue that this situation is better for society as it provides a plethora of choices for entertainment, while others think this is leading to deterioration in the content's quality shown in various TV channels. While getting access to a lot of shows on TV sounds a good idea, I believe that with the increasing number of these the quality is getting degraded and compromised. On the one hand, getting a TV package, which has many channels sounds tempting, because people have a lot of options for their entertainment. By, having many choices every member of the family can watch a show of their preferred genre and they can relate to it. For example, when I was a kid everyone in my family had a designated time interval for their entertainment to which we can attach and use them as our stress buster. However, with the increase in the number of channels because of less tax on entertainment and funding from celebrities the subject of the shows on various channels is getting dull day by day. On the other hand, it is undeniable that with increasing technology and relaxed copyrights law from the government the concept and matter of many shows overlap with each other. In this fiercely competitive world where every channel wants to lead the race of Television Rating points, which is also abbreviated as TRP, has led to copycat programs. For instance, on the BBC and AXN, every Friday night the same type of dancing and singing reality shows are broadcasted which have zero per cent of the difference between them, even the judges of them are swapped every year. I believe Program producers should understand the fact that customers need richer and varied choices for entertainment and should focus on the quality of the script. In conclusion, although numerous channels give the spectators a lot of options and make them happy for some time, it is vital that producers should put stress on filming quality programs with non-redundant script and cast. It is recommended that states also monitor the entertainment the industry for penalising copycats.