Some people say that having a lot of Television channels is good, while others argue that it reduces the quality of programs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

No one can deny that TV programs have become part of our life. However, it is a contentious issue that whether too many TV channels brings any good for us or just a cause of bad quality TV programs. I will discuss this in the following essay. Too many TV channels could create good competition among TV broadcasters and have numerous benefits. For example, with more channels, broadcasters have more time to air creative and taboo topics and compete for the better content. Tv can attract more eyeball with more diverse content, and viewers can decide to watch according to their taste. Moreover, diverse content can cater to the needs of different people, it could allow broadcasters to air different contents for different market segment of people. Furthermore, more programs bring more choice for people as they can watch news programs, dramas, science specific content, cartoon channel for kids and a lot more you can imagine. It could be said that with the rise of TV channels quality have taken a hit and it has created fragmented society. For example, more Tv programs means same type of content and their ratings also have gone down due to diluted content. Furthermore, with more programs being air, production companies more effort goes to find more advertisements as their business model is unsustainable because market is saturated, rather merely focus on unique and interesting content for viewers. Moreover, it could also mean that too many different views of a certain topic can create a fragmented society where shared experiences with friends and family are rare. In conclusion, it could be said that I partly agree that more TV channels can be beneficial for people as they have a choice to watch a program they are interested in and it can also create healthy competition for a good content.