Some people say that Government should break down all the historic building and replace them with modern buildings.

A few people think that all monuments built during ancient times must be replaced with new structures by the government. I strongly disagree to this fact since our government will not be able to recreate them and these buildings make learning history easier for our children. Our engineers today will not be able to build a structure as strong and sturdy as our ancient monuments. In the good old days, the ministry under the rule of kings were able to build structures which could stand firm and last for many centuries. Unless and until their age-old engineering techniques remain hidden, the government at present cannot recreate nor renew these buildings. For example, the Big temple at Tanjore built under the rule of King Raja Raja Chola holds a lot of mysteries for over 1000 years. The engineering behind how the capstone which weighs 100 tons was taken to the height of 200 metres and placed above the temple is still not discovered. Historical tours for students makes learning easier and help younger generation realise our great heritage. Rather than reading and memorizing content from text books, children should be taken to monuments and allowed to touch and feel the architecture of structures. Moreover, such trips will inculcate the importance of our culture and permit children to take pride in our heritage. A recent survey conducted among students who chose History and Civics as their majors, reveals that 90% of them prefer educational tours to historical places rather than excursions for entertainment. I would like to conclude by disagreeing to the fact that the present authorities should destroy our ancient buildings and replace them with new structures. Historical monuments should be maintained by the government since we cannot raise one such everlasting structure today and through these monuments we would be able to educate and pass on our rich tradition to the young generation.