Some people say that excessive noise should be a criminal offence. While other say that they should be free to make noise without limitation.

It is argued that making a change in an environment could only be done by big organizations and authorities while the citizens has little or no role to play in improving their surroundings. Personally, I tend to disagree with this view because individuals ensure cleanliness of the environment and also pay their taxes regularly to keep the economy running effectively. Some people opine that governments and big companies are solely responsible in protecting the environment. Perhaps this is because the officials provide infrastructure amenities such as good road networks, the creation of schools and hospitals, which will help to improve the lives of the populace. For instance, having a standard medical facility might help to combat unwanted diseases and germs in the environment. Companies, however, might help to create more jobs to reduce unemployment rate in the country. For example, a well known business tycoon in Nigeria, Aliko Dangote, opened his refinery and was able to employ more citizens of the country. This has helped to reduce the high rate of unemployment. So, these could be the reasons for this school of thought. However, I do not support that individuals have little or no role to play in improving the environment. Even though governments has its role to play, every individual should probably have numerous ways on how to improve the environment and also make it habitable for them. Firstly, they should ensure regular cleaning of their surroundings, because they have direct contact with it. This might help to eliminate diseases or an epidemic outbreak from the environment due to the inability of the viruses or pathogens to strive in a clean environment. In addition, in order to reduce air pollution, individuals can curb their use of fossil fuels in household equipment and automotive. Unless we invest in renewable energy from solar, water or wind power, global warming might have a significant impact on our planet. So, these are the reasons why I believe individuals have a role to play in their environments. In conclusion, while government sector and huge industries protect their environment by creating jobs and ensuring good amenities are available, it is logical to say that the populace of its environs should be actively involved to ensure cleanliness of the surrounding.