Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

After the industrialisation revolution, there is an increasing concentration on developing economy, as well as the concern of the environment. Some people believe that economic progress is more beneficial that can tackle problems of poverty and hunger, while others say that this kind of advancement is harmful to the ecosystem and must stop now. In the following essay, I will discuss both views with proper examples and draw a reasonable conclusion. On the one hand, people who support to forbid economic growth may argue that there are several drawbacks of such kind of advancement. An obvious example can be viewed by pollution done by factories, vehicles and households. Carbon dioxides emitted by those groups boost the growth of temperature due to greenhouse effects, leading to melting of ice glaciers in polar areas. I hold a pessimistic opinion that human can cope with even a small rise of the sea level well. Coastal cities would be flooded, especially for countries who do not have the means to protect low-lying areas, and people who live there would lose their jobs, homes, and even life. Thus, it seems logical to slow down the economic growth for the purpose of preventing that situation above. On the other hand, admittedly, though the improvement of the economy may result in pollution, it indeed brings residents numerous advantages. Firstly, a healthy economy can result in job creation, high level of employment, and higher salaries for citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that governments can have more funds to spend on infrastructures. For instance, a government with higher revenue can invest more in the improvement of public transportation system which makes a contribution to the reduction of greenhouse gases emissions, health care system which benefits the whole society, and poverty alleviation, which narrows the poverty gap and guarantees people with lower income to live with better conditions. The final merit of the increased GDP is that a strong economy can undoubtedly assist the country standing on the global stage, in terms of its political strength and trading power. In conclusion, I believe that economic advancement should be never stopped, because it can help the community to treat its citizens well in terms of living standards, and a country with greater economic potentials is more likely to tackle the current environmental issue. Thus, the pros of a booming economy outweigh its cons.