Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped.

It is often argued whether economic development is a positive trend or not. Some people consider it as the only solution to hunger and poverty, while others, who want to stop such growth, blame it for environmental degradation. In my point of view, although both sides have their own grounds, I believe we should not stop the economy from developing. On the one hand, it is undeniable that industrialization brought about detrimental effects on the environment. To be specific, in order to maximize profits, millions of factories skipped restrictions on waste treatment, discharging tons of contaminants to the water body every day. Furthermore, economic development comes along with an increase in people’s needs. In the past, every family only owned one to two cars whereas at present, the affordable prices of private means of transportation allow everyone, even teenagers, has their own ones. This results in a large number of cars being used every day, which emit air pollutants into the atmosphere and heavily damage the environment. However, despite such drawbacks, economic growth plays an important role in ending hunger and poverty. In undeveloped countries, for the time being, there are hundreds of death from starvation every day, and their only hope is supports from the government. Seeing this issue rom the government perspective, it is impossible to support such large number of famine victims without a stable budget. The only solution is to uplift the economy so that every individual can generate their own incomes, and the governments can use taxes to support those who in need. Moreover, I believe only when people escape poverty do they start having serious considerations of global issues such as protecting the environment. Therefore, economic development does not totally have negative effects on the environment. In conclusion, while the growth of the economy may have harmful impacts on the environment, it seems to be the only way to save people lives in undeveloped countries. Based on the aforementioned reasons, I hold the belief that the latter is more important and economic development should be encouraged.