Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped.

Some people believe that the only way to end hunger and poverty is economic growth, while others claim that it should be stopped as it is destroying the natural habitats. In my opinion, I am more inclined to the first viewpoint than the second one. It is undeniable that economic growth takes a heavy toll on the environment. Firstly, there are several factories lacking proper treatment process of industrial gases and releasing a large amount of CO2 into the air. As a result, this process makes the atmosphere becoming more polluted, being responsible for global warming. In addition, to pave the way for economic prosperity, tourism industries have witnessed a sharp increase in the number of tourists, which damages the natural habitats of many sea creatures by a great number of plastic bottles discharged. In Da Nang beach, for instance, the amount of trash littered on the ocean increases significantly annually, directly causing to the reduction of turtle population. However, I claim that to eliminate hunger and poverty, economic growth plays an important role. Firstly, as many international enterprises invest their money to build factories in poor countries, the economic development can get rid of poverty. This is because by constructing these factories, there are more job opportunities which can be generated, allowing local employees to work in these factories and combat poverty. Besides, after ending poverty and improving living standards, individuals have a tendency to support communities by donation. Therefore, a wide range of supplies such as rice and instant noodles can be donated to disaster areas, directly contributing to end hunger. In conclusion, although economic growth has negative impacts on the environment, this development still is a key factor to combat hunger and poverty.