Shopping is now a popular pastime for many young people. What are the reasons for this? Should young people be encouraged to do more useful activities in their spare time?

The economic development has led to various changes in the current lifestyle of individuals. Shopping has become an integral part of our life. The youth are more attracted to this habit than older people and it has almost become their favourite hobby. While there are many reasons attributed to this habit such as increased spending power and peer influences, some people argue that they should be encouraged to spend their time wisely in other useful activities and I completely agree with that because time is the most precious thing in the world. To embark upon, the advantages of shopping helps in increasing the employment opportunities. The economic development is a positive sign of an economy, as it helps in increasing the disposable income of people. Individuals use this disposable income to shop various products. As a number of people go shopping, this raises the demands of products, further leading to increasing the production of products. All this increases the employment opportunities in the country. In addition, with the development in the technological area, shopping has become much more convenient. Shopping can easily be done online without the need to commute. This has increased the interest of individuals in shopping. Finally, people nowadays give more emphasis on looking good and presentable, as they feel this could help in a wider acceptance of their personalities in the society. Hence, people spend a good sum of money by indulging in the latest fashion. On the other hand, there are a number of downsides to this. A lot of individuals are spending a lot of money on clothes, whereas, they are not taking any measures towards their physical well-being. People should spend their time more productively, they can rather use their spare time in doing physical exercises than shopping for things which may not be necessary. In conclusion, it is true shopping has become an integral part of the youth's daily life. In my view, it is more vital for the youth to engage in other productive activities such as exercising, which will help in their well-being to a large extend.