Some people say that computer skills should be added to primary subjects in elementary school such as reading, writing and math.

It is argued nowadays that computer skills should be taught in elementary schools together with primary skills, such as reading or math. This issue has its own pros and cons, and before supporting or refuting this statement, it is worth considering this phenomenon from both sides. Primarily, those people who find it necessary for school children to have computer skills as a school subject may have the following reasons. First of all, hardly anyone would deny that the world today is ruled by technology, and it is vital that children understand the workings of computers as early in life as possible, and school could be a perfect place for this. Moreover, such computer skills subject could teach a child to use computer technology constructively by taking advantage of abundant Internet resources for self-study and obtaining academically enriching information. However, there is an opinion that computer skills should not be included in school curricula. Thus, such subject would not benefit children because they spend plenty of time with technology beyond school and usually successfully master computer skills on their own without any help of teachers or parents. The opponents of computer skills classes also claim that instead of wasting time on learning these skills it would be reasonable to introduce more vital subjects, such as learning foreign languages or history. To conclude, I support the opinion of people who are against teaching computer skills in school as contemporary school children acquire these skills independently and naturally. Therefore, school education decision-makers should rather put more emphasis on academic subjects than on developing technical skills among youngsters who may already be generally proficient computer users.