Some people say that art subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education and every school should include them in its syllabus.

In recent years, the issue about what subjects are important in schools is becoming a debatable issue. Some individuals say that art courses such as music, drama and creative writing should be inculcated in the school curriculum as they are an important part of schooling. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this line of thought. This essay will outline the reasons for my stance which includes stress and our individual differences. Firstly, all humans are created in different ways. While some people are arts inclined, others are science inclined. Eventhough arts is necessary in our everyday lives, it should not be made compulsory in schools. In University of Uyo for instance, a study done in their first year class to check how many students would want to study arts related subjects showed that some of them tilted towards arts while some tilted towards science. This goes on to show that we have varying preferences. Secondly, arts related courses should not be made compulsory in schools as this will lead to stress in core science students which will now limit them from focusing in their areas of strength. That is to say that students should not be forced to take courses that are not related to his or her field of interest. For example in St Columbanus secondary school in Nigeria, science students are made to offer arts too. When asked how they cope with the workload, these students revealed that they are really stressed. This goes on to show that burdening students with courses that won't be relevant to them in future is not necessary. In summary, while individuals have different views about arts being an important part of learning, in my opinion, I disagree with this fact because of the resultant stress it will lead to.